Testers Wanted! Titleist SM10 and Stix Golf Clubs ×

Metronome Beats - Mobile device tempo timer

Jon Brittan

You want to review a mobile phone app for music on a golf forum?

Yes, I do, but bear with me for just a minute, please. Feel free to call me a crank, but read a few more paragraphs first...

You will often hear teaching professionals and commentators talk about both rhythm and tempo in the golf swing.

You will also often watch a tour professional and think they look like they're barely swinging, while generating clubhead speeds you really wish you could achieve... This is the result of the rhythm of their swing, it may be fast but it's smooth and balanced...

I started playing golf two years ago and have taught myself. I'll cover more on my own background in golf shortly as I'll be reviewing the Ben Hogan Ft. Worth Black irons for this site, but it was for that very reason that this week I wanted to make sure my ball-striking is currently about as good as I can hope for it to be at present.

Some of you will have heard of the Tour Tempo app, I can't vouch for it's merits or even suggest it has dis-merits, but it does cost money.

I wanted to make sure my swing tempo was good, so I downloaded a completely free metronome timer on Android

What is the App?

Metronome Beats

Metronome1.jpg

It has adverts in the app, but they're completely unobtrusive.

What does it do?

The app plays a consistent beat in a fourths format. It allows beats up to 900bpm, which is way faster than we need and it's really easy to set.

You simply swirl through the dial to set the rhythm you want and press the play button for it to "tap" at you through the speakers or headphones if you have them connected to your device.

Metronome2.jpg

You can also quickly adjust your tempo up and down in 1 or 5 bpm increments.

Okay, so what are we looking to achieve?

I find this really helps me to "balance" my swing and find a good pace.