Golftec iron fitting

Haile

Yesterday, I had my first iron fitting ever. I’ve only ever been fit for a driver. I take lessons at my local golftec. I’ve made a world of progress and my driver feels crazy good to me. So, I figured irons were next. I’m what some refer to as an equipment nerd since I read about almost everything that’s on the market. I went in thinking I knew what I wanted. I couldn’t have been more wrong. I’m fortunate enough to have a sim at home that’s accurate enough. I know most of my average numbers. I’ve been gaming a set of Taylormade sim max since I started 4 years ago. They have a regular flex graphite shaft. However, I’ve had a sneaking suspicion that they’ve been holding me back a bit. I’ve picked up so much swing speed in the last year but I never felt like I could just swing my irons. Yesterday I was proven right. After a 10 minute discussion about why I was there, the guy went  to their wall and picked 3 iron heads and two shafts. Both in steel. The first head was a callaway apex pro with 105gram stiff steel shaft. It felt okay. A little numb for my taste. The second was a jpx from mizuno with the same shaft. I made some swings. He flat out told me to quit holding back on my swings(we have an honest relationship that I appreciate). He said these aren’t your clubs, just swing the thing. I went from an average of 87 to 93 because I didn’t have to worry about anything being overly springy or snappy. Next we moved to the mizuno 223 with the dynamic gold 120g shaft in a stiff flex. From the first swing, I was in love. This is what it’s supposed to feel like? Almost no swing thoughts? I tried a titleist t150 next. I’ve determined that brand isn’t for me. I couldn’t hit their driver either. Which sucks because they make some nice looking clubs. But, for whatever reason, I just can’t swing them. We tried a few more head and shaft combos including extra stiff. But that brought my spin down too far. Yeah it was cool gaining an extra club length. B