Jump to content
HighFade

Embarrassing hole in one?

Recommended Posts

Our Sponsors

I just had this thought on the course. Please someone tell me I'm not alone.....

 

Coming up to a par 3 in brutal wind conditions, I club up about 2 or even 3 clubs. I can't help but thinking "please don't hit a hole in one! I don't want it in the paper that I aced a 130 yard hole with a 6 iron!"


There is no spoon.

WITB
TaylorMade M3
Callaway Diablo 15°
Callaway Diablo 18°
Callaway Steelhead XR Pro 4-W
Mizuno TP-4 50, 54, 58
TaylorMade Rossa Monza Spyder

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

A couple of years ago one of my best friends got an ace at 190 yards with a 7-wood. The guy is in his mid-30s so I maintain it doesn't count since no man at that age should ever carry a 7-wood.


MyGolfSpy is only major golf site that refuses advertising from large golf companies. With your support we can keep it that way. Donate Today
 


Subscribe to the MyGolfSpy Newsletter

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

A hole in one is a hole in one ... embrace it!!!


Posted Image

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

A bad hole-in-one is like a bad piece of ....cake?...I better not say what I was thinking. There is no such thing as a bad hole-in-one. While playing the par 5 fifth hole, I hit the ball washer next to the 15th teebox, and it bounced in the air and landed 40 yards away on the correct green and rolled in the hole for a double eagle. Guess what? It still went down a 2 on the scorecard.


 

Driver:      :mizuno-small:  ST190G on Fujikura ATMOS Black

Fairway:   :mizuno-small:  ST190TS 15° on Fujikura ATMOS Black

Hybrids     :mizuno-small:  CLK 22 & 25 (set to 20° & 23°) on Fujikura SPEEDER

Irons:     :mizuno-small:  MP5 5-P on True Temper Dynamic Gold

Wedges: :mizuno-small: MP-T5 52*, 56* & 60* on True Temper Dynamic Gold Wedge

Putter:    :cameron-small: 2018 Select Newport 2

Balls:      :titelist-small: Pro V1X

Shoes:     :footjoy-small:

Range Finder: Precision Pro  NX7 Pro

All grips are BestGrips Micro-Perforated

 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

These are great stories - but you guys are missing the point. Im talking about having it in the newspaper that I hit a 130 yarder with a 6 iron. Obviously, i wouldn't complain about an ace. Just the macho man in me wouldn't it advertised that I had to use anything more than a lob wedge from 190.


There is no spoon.

WITB
TaylorMade M3
Callaway Diablo 15°
Callaway Diablo 18°
Callaway Steelhead XR Pro 4-W
Mizuno TP-4 50, 54, 58
TaylorMade Rossa Monza Spyder

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Oh I must have missed the rule that said that one had to hit a certain club to make a good score. I hit a 5 iron, waste high backswing to a par 3 that was 120 yards away Saturday to about 3 feet into a 30 mph wind. The other guys I was playing with.used a more macho club and missed the green. I made birdie and they made bogies. I also won $220 on Saturday. When the girl totalled the bar bill she did not ask what club I used to win the money.

 

Who cares what club you use? A few holes before it I was about 100 yards out and had that 30 mph wind behind me. After watching all of the other guys either come up short or get blown over the back i hit a bump and run with an 8 iron and ended up on the green, the only ball on the green out of 6 players.

 

It makes no difference what club you hit because you do not have to take a full swing.


 

Driver:      :mizuno-small:  ST190G on Fujikura ATMOS Black

Fairway:   :mizuno-small:  ST190TS 15° on Fujikura ATMOS Black

Hybrids     :mizuno-small:  CLK 22 & 25 (set to 20° & 23°) on Fujikura SPEEDER

Irons:     :mizuno-small:  MP5 5-P on True Temper Dynamic Gold

Wedges: :mizuno-small: MP-T5 52*, 56* & 60* on True Temper Dynamic Gold Wedge

Putter:    :cameron-small: 2018 Select Newport 2

Balls:      :titelist-small: Pro V1X

Shoes:     :footjoy-small:

Range Finder: Precision Pro  NX7 Pro

All grips are BestGrips Micro-Perforated

 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I'd be proud of a hole in one if I used a driver from 150. That leads into a funny story; I almost hit a hole in one on a 160yd par 3.....with a putter. How macho would that have been. We were playing a round in early January a few years ago and the pond was still frozen. I hit a putter across the ice and it curled around the hole and finished about 15" directly behind it.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

The only time I worry about an ace when our whole association is out at the course, because I know getting one then would put a serious dent in my wallet!


Ping I20 8.5* - Aldila NV 65g S
Adams XTD Super Hybrid 15* - Stock Fubuki S
Adams DHY 21* - Stock Matrix Ozik White Tie S
Mizuno MP58 4-8 Irons - Fujikura MCI 100 S
SCOR 42,46,50,54,58* - SCOR/KBS Genius S
STX Robert Ingman Envision TR 35", Iomic grip

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I'd take it like a man and be stoke don a hole in one ;-)

 

I tend to be the guy who hits every club one club short of all my buddies, but I'm ok with that.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Last time I got a hole-in-one, nobody cared to ask what club did I use :lol:

So I don't think it matters.

Besides, you could always say you only did a half-swing or a chip B)


:callaway-small: GBB Epic 9* w/ Aldila Rogue MAX 65 S
:callaway-small: X2 Hot 3 Deep 14.5* w/ Aldila Tour Green 75 S
:taylormade-small: JetSpeed 5W 19* w/ Matrix Velox T 69 S OR :adams-small: Super LS 3H 19* w/ Kuro Kage Black S 80
:mizuno-small: JPX919 Forged 4-PW w/ Modus3 105 S
:titelist-small: Vokey SM7 50/08F, 54/14F & 58/08M w/ Modus3 115 Wedge
:EVNROLL: ER1 34" w/ SuperStroke Fatso 2.0
MfleKCg.jpg Pro / 9dZCgaF.jpgH2NO Lite Cart Bag / :Clicgear: 3.0 / :918457628_PrecisionPro: NX7 Pro LRF

My reviews: MLA Putter // ShotScope V1 // Titleist SM7 // PING i500 // PuttOUT

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I just had this thought on the course. Please someone tell me I'm not alone.....

 

Coming up to a par 3 in brutal wind conditions, I club up about 2 or even 3 clubs. I can't help but thinking "please don't hit a hole in one! I don't want it in the paper that I aced a 130 yard hole with a 6 iron!"

 

That's funny. It reminds me of...well...every hole in one story I've EVER read on wrx. "The hole was 150 and I hit a half-knockdown-punch-choked down-baby 7I." Just say you hit a 7I 150 and it went in the hole! I hear you though, everyone wants their hole in one to be way downwind so it can be a 200 yard 6I.

 

A bad hole-in-one is like a bad piece of ....cake?...I better not say what I was thinking.

 

Reading this was an awesome way to start my day. Big smile on this guy's face. Nice one, RR.


Follow me on Twitter: @MattSaternus

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I have said this before and will say it again... Golf is a game where your ego needs to be left in the parking lot...

 

It doesn't matter what you hit, there is no pictures on the scorecard. An ace is a big fat ONE on the scorecard that is it. You will always know what you hit, why you hit it, length of hole, etc. If it is your first one you'll never forget the details of the shot.

 

I kept the ball with my first ever Eagle (Still remember the hole as well), I plan to keep the first Ace and Double Eagle as well but after that it's just one more time of enjoying the moment.

 

My larger concern is that I am not with a bunch of people that will run up my bar tab when I have to buy them drinks because they witnessed the ace more then what others will think about it.


KZG VC-420 ML (10.5* Loft & 0.2* Open Face Angle) @ 44.50" (2" Bore Depth) w/ Graphite Design Tour AD DI-7 Stiff

Tour Edge Exotics CB3 Tour 16.5* @ 42.50" w/ RT Technologies Zeus (85g) Stiff (Tipped 1/2")

Srixon Z U45 19.0* @ 39.75" w/ KBS Tour-V X-Stiff (Soft Stepped 1x)

Cleveland 588 MB 3-P @ 38.75" - 35.25" (0.25" under), 60.5* - 64.0* (0.5* upright), 22* - 48* (1* weak) w/ KBS Tour-V X-Stiff (Soft Stepped 1x)

Cleveland 588 RTX 2.0 Black Satin (Blade) 54-12 @ 35.25", 64.00* w/ True Temper Dynamic Gold s400

Cleveland 588 RTX 2.0 Black Satin (Blade) 60-10 @ 35.25", 64.00* w/ True Temper Dynamic Gold s400

Lamkin UTX Wrap, Including Grip Core: 1/32 over (top hand), 1/16 over (bottom hand)

Srixon Z-Star

 

Golf Swing & Putting -- Bruce Rearick (Burnt Edges Consulting)

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Nobody is going to remember what is printed in a tiny corner of the newspaper. But if you make a hole-in-one you'll remember it forever. And the group you played with will also likely remember the shot for a long time. I remember almost every hole-in-one I've seen and I've seen maybe 8 or 10. Nothing embarrassing about any of them. Just wish I could make one myself.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

So no one has EVER had that thought creep into their head? I guess I am alone....

 

Come on, be honest.

 

Let's get a couple things straight:

1. I would be THRILLED to get a hole in one, no matter how it happened. Even a goofy shot that hit a water fountain and caromed 50 yards in the other direction. Hey, as long as it goes in, right?

 

2. I am very disciplined about club selection. You hit the club that will get you there. Just last week I hit a 3w into a par 3. All my playing partners tried to reach it with irons. I was the only one to reach the green...

 

3. I'm not saying I wish it wouldn't go in the hole - far from

It. But this small part of me was giggling inside, trying to picture the newspaper article the next day, saying I hit a 195yard par 3 with a 3w! Just something that made me chuckle a little inside....

 

That's what made me post the article. Just wondering if anyone else had that thought. I guess not.


There is no spoon.

WITB
TaylorMade M3
Callaway Diablo 15°
Callaway Diablo 18°
Callaway Steelhead XR Pro 4-W
Mizuno TP-4 50, 54, 58
TaylorMade Rossa Monza Spyder

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

We usually play holes and quota, or wolf and quota and sometimes just quota. But almost always there is a quota side bet. $10 each with 0 points double bogey or higher, 1 point bogey, 2 for par, 3 for birdie, 4 eagle, 5 double eagle, and a hole in one is automatic winner. We have never had a winner that way but we decided that if you get a hole-in-one than you win. No stipulation on what club you have to hit to get the hole in one.

 

I will say that most people who read the paper, would not know the difference in the clubs nor really care about your hole in one.

 

 

The other day I hit a shot that looked prefect and I thought do not go in the hole, it did not, but the reason I did not want it to go in was there was no one else in sight on the course, Who wants to make a hole in one without a witness. In that case it is like a bad piece of... cake.


 

Driver:      :mizuno-small:  ST190G on Fujikura ATMOS Black

Fairway:   :mizuno-small:  ST190TS 15° on Fujikura ATMOS Black

Hybrids     :mizuno-small:  CLK 22 & 25 (set to 20° & 23°) on Fujikura SPEEDER

Irons:     :mizuno-small:  MP5 5-P on True Temper Dynamic Gold

Wedges: :mizuno-small: MP-T5 52*, 56* & 60* on True Temper Dynamic Gold Wedge

Putter:    :cameron-small: 2018 Select Newport 2

Balls:      :titelist-small: Pro V1X

Shoes:     :footjoy-small:

Range Finder: Precision Pro  NX7 Pro

All grips are BestGrips Micro-Perforated

 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

So no one has EVER had that thought creep into their head? I guess I am alone....

 

Come on, be honest.

 

Let's get a couple things straight:

1. I would be THRILLED to get a hole in one, no matter how it happened. Even a goofy shot that hit a water fountain and caromed 50 yards in the other direction. Hey, as long as it goes in, right?

 

2. I am very disciplined about club selection. You hit the club that will get you there. Just last week I hit a 3w into a par 3. All my playing partners tried to reach it with irons. I was the only one to reach the green...

 

3. I'm not saying I wish it wouldn't go in the hole - far from

It. But this small part of me was giggling inside, trying to picture the newspaper article the next day, saying I hit a 195yard par 3 with a 3w! Just something that made me chuckle a little inside....

 

That's what made me post the article. Just wondering if anyone else had that thought. I guess not.

 

I'm still trying for a hole in one. Plus everyone knows you have to go up a few clubs in a headwind. Think of it this way, Casey got a hole in one at Doral, no one talked about the club he used...

 

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=EXQjYLwjBQU

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Tonight starts our Wednesday Night, Beer Can Open. Every Wednesday night from now until Daylight Savings Time ends, you have to call or go by the club house before 5:15 and sign up. You have to be there by 5:45, pay your $15 and get assigned to a team. We try to divide the teams evenly. After the 9 hole scramble you get a meal in the club house. The team with the lowest score on 9 holes get to split the money left after paying for everyones meal. In the event of a tie we have a chip/pitch off. Last year I played 16 times and won 8 times.

 

Here is why this is relavant to this topic. Often there are 5 or 6 to a team. We are all trying to out drive every one else. And on almost every hole we are inside of 100 yards on the par 5's and 200 on the par 5's. I laugh to myself every time because all these macho guys are saying stuff like "175 yards is a baby 9 iron for me" and then they darn near lose a shoe swinging the 9 iron and does not even stay in the county. I will be honest 175 is a 5 iron for me with no wind. a rare occurance in Texas.

 

I win because I am often hitting knock down irons or bump and runs to the greens with what I call my extended short game. Most of these guys are swinging 110% every time. I rarely swing an iron more than 80% and never swing a wedge more than 80% unless I absolutely must go over a tree and cannot go around or under it.

 

 

So if I ever get a hole-in-one it will probably be with a knock down shot of some kind. I have only seen two holes-in-one, and neither of them were the picture perfect hit on the green and released. Both were worm burner that continued to roll until the found the cup. Both of them counted as a 1.


 

Driver:      :mizuno-small:  ST190G on Fujikura ATMOS Black

Fairway:   :mizuno-small:  ST190TS 15° on Fujikura ATMOS Black

Hybrids     :mizuno-small:  CLK 22 & 25 (set to 20° & 23°) on Fujikura SPEEDER

Irons:     :mizuno-small:  MP5 5-P on True Temper Dynamic Gold

Wedges: :mizuno-small: MP-T5 52*, 56* & 60* on True Temper Dynamic Gold Wedge

Putter:    :cameron-small: 2018 Select Newport 2

Balls:      :titelist-small: Pro V1X

Shoes:     :footjoy-small:

Range Finder: Precision Pro  NX7 Pro

All grips are BestGrips Micro-Perforated

 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

the more I think about it, I actually think having to hit an odd club in a weird situation like that would make the hole-in-one all the more of a big deal.

 

ie: you actually had to think through the hole and do something that differs from a "normal" or straight forward shot.

 

I'd say that gives you bigger bragging rights for the situation presented.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

My only ace was with a 4 iron into a 164 yard hole..

 

My stock 4 iron yardage is 205....

 

I couldn't care less.


What I lug around the golf course in my MacKenzie Walker.

Driver -   Ping G410 Plus 9° Tour 65 S
Fairway -  :srixon-small: Z785 13.5° Tensei CK Pro Orange 70 S

2 Iron - :srixon-small: ZU65 18° AeroTech SteelFiber 110icw S

Irons -  :srixon-small: Z785  TTDG IT S400 3,5-Pw 1° flat
Wedges - :cleveland-small: RTX4 Raw 50° 54° 58°  TTGDTI S400 1° flat

Putters -   Odyssey Toulon Stroke Lab Austin/Nike  Method Converge B1-01 UST Frequency Filter/Odyssey 2 Ball DFX/ TaylorMade Spider
Tour Black / Ping Anser F/ Scotty Cameron TeI3 Sole Stamp Newport 2. All with different grips, weights, and lengths.
 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Join the conversation

You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.

Guest
Reply to this topic...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.


×
×
  • Create New...