Testers Wanted: RUNNER Golf and Byrdie Golf Design ×

Titleist Vokey SM7 Review

Kanoito

So I've been playing the SM7 for about a month now and would like to share my findings with you guys...

I'm going to skip my golfer background, but if you are interested, I do mention it in my ShotScope and MLA putter reviews (links in my signature).

I got a fitting for my drivers and irons... so why not the wedges as well? Until now, I had been playing with Mizuno T5 wedges OTR. It wasn't hard to choose, no grind options, just loft and bounce.

But what if there was more performance hidden behind a well-fitted set of wedges? I had to find out!

Fitting

My fitting was done at Titleist Fitting Center in Green Eagle (where the Porsche European Open was hosted).

fitting2_small.jpg

I've played the course once about 5 years ago, when I was still a total beginner. So I'm pretty sure I was unable to appreciate it. The North Course is looong. I remember there is a hole that could easily be made into a Par 6.

Anyways, when I arrived, the course was pretty much on lock-down (prepartion for the PEO). A lot of Porsche on display, immaculate driving range, waiting for the pro's to show up a few weeks later.

After saying hi to my fitter, we got down to business. The usual questions: what's your handicap, what wedges are you using now, what is your PW, carry, etc...

I was already warmed-up, so we got on Trackman right away. My CF16 PW was pretty consistent with 120 yards carry.

Standard loft on the PW is 45°, so my fitter we recommended to stay with the current set-up of 50°, 54°, 58°.

Vokey offers the 50°in F grind only. Since I'm a slider, my fitter recommended the 8°bounce option. The F grind is more suitable for square-faced and full swings. That's good, cause that's also how I use my gap wedge most of the time. To keep a consistent feel with the full-swings, we opted for the PX 5.5 shaft, just like my iron set.

50_small.jpg