My playing partner cheated

So I played my first tournament and had a great time, played pretty good and look forward to more of them. But this was a shocking experience at the end of the round. When we finished, we’re totaling and signing score cards in the parking lot. We finished up and went our separate ways. The kid I was playing with unloaded his clubs from the cart and said goodbye. He was a young kid who played for a small college a few hours away. He was a good player although he didn’t have a great round. When I went to park the cart I noticed he left a golf ball in the cart, I went to look for him but I think he’s already left. I dropped my clubs in my car and went to put the ball in my bag and what did I discover…. The ball was caked in Vaseline! My jaw hit the floor. This kid didn’t need to cheat, he was a good player. I am a newbie to tournaments but I showed the cart barn guys and they knew exactly what it was when I showed them. Both agreed he was cheating and they seemed frustrated but not surprised. One said it is a common occurrence in amateur tournaments. Not what I wanted to find and it made me look at the kid in a completely different light. I never turned him in and I wasn’t gonna go down that road. If he is cheating regularly he will get caught someday. The weirdest thing is, earlier in the round we were talking golf and the topic of Patrick Reed came up. The kid was defending him which hindsight makes me laugh a little. 

Ping G410 LST 10.5 w/ Fujikura Motore F3 60X

Callaway X2 Hot 2 Deep 12.5* 

Adams XTD LSP 23* hybrid Aldila rogue black 85X

Nike VR Pro II Blades 5-PW w/ Modus 120X

Nike Wedges

PXG Putter

38 minutes ago, srooch2 said: