Jump to content
Sign in to follow this  
Filtr

Flag stick laying on the green

Recommended Posts

Our Sponsors

We where at the course and the flag pin was laying on the green after removing it for chip shot what is the penalty if your ball hits it

 

 

Sent from my iPhone using MyGolfSpy

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

2 strokes.

 

 

Sent from my iPad using MyGolfSpy

  • Like 1

  • :ping-small: G400 Driver, 3 Fairway
  • :mizuno-small: Fli-Hi Utility Irons - 18° & 21°
  • :Hogan: Ft. Worth Hi Utility Iron - 24°
  • :callaway-small: Forged Razr X 6-A Wedge irons
  • :titelist-small: :vokey-small: SM7 54° & 58°
  • :ping-small: Sigma2 Tyne Putter
  • :918457628_PrecisionPro:NX7 Laser Rangefinder
  • Garmin Approach S20 GPS

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Currently

Rule 17-3

 

From Jan 2019

There will be generally no penalty for a moving ball hitting  the flagstick.  That includes when it is removed,  [Rule 13.2 b (2)]

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Currently

Rule 17-3

 

From Jan 2019

There will be generally no penalty for a moving ball hitting  the flagstick.  That includes when it is removed,  [Rule 13.2 b (2)]

seems open to abuse that rule.

  • Like 4

Driver     Awaiting NEW Driver (after 10 yrs)  
4 Wood   Callaway Big Bertha Steelhead plus 4+  :callaway-small: Callaway shaft in 'Firm' flex

Hybrid     Titleist 910H 19*    :titelist-small:   Diamana ahina 'flower' shaft in 'S'

Irons         Mizuno MP18SC 4-PW   :mizuno-small:  N.S Pro Modus3 Tour 105 in 'S'

Wedges    Callaway Mack Daddy forged in black 50* and 54*  :callaway-small:   KBS Tour in 'R'

Putter        'YES' Tracy 11 C groove 34.5"

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

seems open to abuse that rule.

 

Absolutely...backstop anyone?

  • Like 4

In the bag:
:taylormade-small: M5 Project X Even Flow Blue 6.0
Fairway: Sub 70 939X 15° Project X Even Flow Blue 6.0
:755178188_TourEdge: CBX 119 19° hybrid Project X Even Flow Blue 6.0
:bridgestone-small: Tour B JGR 4-GW UST Mamiya Recoil 680 F4
:cleveland-small: Smartsole S
:yes-small: Tracy
Bag: 
:Ogio: Alpha Convoy 514
Balls::Snell: MTB-X

Cart: :CaddyTek: CaddyLite ONE Ver. 8

God Bless America🇺🇸, God save the Queen🇬🇧, God defend New Zealand🇳🇿 and thank Christ for Australia🇦🇺!

 

image.png

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I thought that was normal strategy for downhill putts.

Maybe it's just a northeast regional rule.

It's a Dukes of Decrepitude TUES-THURS-FRI Morning Seniors League rule for certain.

  • Like 2

 

 

 

 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Absolutely...backstop anyone?

I did say, as the 2019 Rule says,  that it will generally  not be a penalty.  Leaving the flagstick in a position with the intention of assisting your play like that will penalised if your ball hits it.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I did say, as the 2019 Rule says,  that it will generally  not be a penalty.  Leaving the flagstick in a position with the intention of assisting your play like that will penalised if your ball hits it.

so a 'V' shape with 2 flag sticks directed into the hole would be a no no!

 

;) ;) :)

  • Like 4

Driver     Awaiting NEW Driver (after 10 yrs)  
4 Wood   Callaway Big Bertha Steelhead plus 4+  :callaway-small: Callaway shaft in 'Firm' flex

Hybrid     Titleist 910H 19*    :titelist-small:   Diamana ahina 'flower' shaft in 'S'

Irons         Mizuno MP18SC 4-PW   :mizuno-small:  N.S Pro Modus3 Tour 105 in 'S'

Wedges    Callaway Mack Daddy forged in black 50* and 54*  :callaway-small:   KBS Tour in 'R'

Putter        'YES' Tracy 11 C groove 34.5"

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

so a 'V' shape with 2 flag sticks directed into the hole would be a no no!

 

;) ;) :)

that's what the foot wedge is for.  

  • Like 1

  • :ping-small: G400 Driver, 3 Fairway
  • :mizuno-small: Fli-Hi Utility Irons - 18° & 21°
  • :Hogan: Ft. Worth Hi Utility Iron - 24°
  • :callaway-small: Forged Razr X 6-A Wedge irons
  • :titelist-small: :vokey-small: SM7 54° & 58°
  • :ping-small: Sigma2 Tyne Putter
  • :918457628_PrecisionPro:NX7 Laser Rangefinder
  • Garmin Approach S20 GPS

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

so a 'V' shape with 2 flag sticks directed into the hole would be a no no!

 

;) ;) :)

Well, for me the two shot penalty might be better than the 4 putt if they aren't there...:)
  • Like 3

Wilson Staff C300 9.0* Fujikura Pro 58 stiff

Callaway Rogue 3W Mitsubishi Diamana D+ LTD 80 stiff

Mizuno MP-18 MMC FLI-HI 2 iron UST Mamiya Recoil 95 stiff

Ping I200's 4-W Aerotech Steelfiber I110 CW stiff

Ping Glide 52* and 58* stiff

Bettinardi Studio Stock #38 Armlock

 

 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Currently

Rule 17-3

 

From Jan 2019

There will be generally no penalty for a moving ball hitting the flagstick. That includes when it is removed, [Rule 13.2 b (2)]

What's interesting is the March revision does not contain this 13.2 (B) language about a flagstick removed, and only includes the language about no penalty for a ball on the green hitting a flagstick left in. It does mention elsewhere that anything purposely positioned beyond the hole to stop or deflect a ball will incur a penalty

:callaway-small: Rogue SZ 10.5 *NEW* Fujikura Pro Green 65 X

:callaway-small: Rogue 15 degree Evnflow Blue 6.5

Back in the Bag :srixon-small: Z765 4-G Nippon Modus 120 Stiff

:vokey-small: 54 and 60

 

:bobby-grace-1: Amazing Grace Ass Kicker

 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I hate the new rule allowing the flagstick to remain in with no penalty so much....

 

It should have only been added a local rule that can be enacted on a tournament by tournament basis and should be completely barred from competitive tournament play  

  • Like 2

Driver:  :titelist-small: TS3 (8.5*) - Mitsubishi Diamana D+ White 70X , 1" short & tipped 1", 4 extra grams of head weight

3 Wood: :titelist-small: TS3 (14.25*) - Mitsubishi Diamana D+ White 80X, 2 extra grams of head weight

Driving Iron: :titelist-small: U500 2 iron - HZRDUS Smoke (X)

Irons (4-6) :titelist-small: T100S - KBS C-Taper X-Stiff

Irons (7-P) :titelist-small: 620 MB - KBS C-Taper X Stiff

Wedges: QAJzq7h.jpg SM7 Jet Black 50.F.12 / 55.S.11 / 60.M.08 - X100

Putter: 5WoCG8Y.jpgBlack ER2 (Finish Courtesy of NorCal Putters) - :P2-grips-logo: Aware Tour

Bag:  :titelist-small: Hybrid 14

Glove:  Under Armour Strikeskin Tour

Ball: :titelist-small: ProV1 Yellow #3

RangeFinder: :918457628_PrecisionPro: NX7 Pro

Instagram: @dpattgolf

CURRENTLY TESTING THE HONMA TR20 DRIVER

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I hate the new rule allowing the flagstick to remain in with no penalty so much....

 

It should have only been added a local rule that can be enacted on a tournament by tournament basis and should be completely barred from competitive tournament play

Curious as to why leaving the flag in the hole would bother anyone..always seems more likely to keep the ball out than knock it it

 

 

Sent from my iPhone using MyGolfSpy

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Well, for me the two shot penalty might be better than the 4 putt if they aren't there...:)

Phil Mickelson endorses this line of calculation...

 

tenor.gif?itemid=12024564

  • Like 3

:callaway-small: Epic Flash Sub Zero, 9°, Aldila Rogue White 80 X
:taylormade-small: M4 3HL 16.5°, Atmos Red 60
:cobra-small: F6 5-6W, 19.5°, Fujikura Motore 6.3
:755178188_TourEdge: CBX 20°, Project X HZRDUS 85 5.5
Currently testing: :Sub70: 699 Pro, Modus3 105, 5–PW
:cleveland-small: CBX 48°
:cleveland-small: RTX-3 CB 54° and 60°
:odyssey-small: Stroke Lab R Ball, 34"
:srixon-small: Z-Star XV

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Curious as to why leaving the flag in the hole would bother anyone..always seems more likely to keep the ball out than knock it it

 

 

Sent from my iPhone using MyGolfSpy

That thought is basically an old wives tale. Its just as likely to go in when it has the pace necessary with to make it with the pin with a increased chance of making it when the pace is too fast. When you also take into account the pin slowing down a ball that is screaming across the green you are much more likely to finish with a lower amount of shots per hole with the pin allowed to remain in. 

  • Like 2

Driver:  :titelist-small: TS3 (8.5*) - Mitsubishi Diamana D+ White 70X , 1" short & tipped 1", 4 extra grams of head weight

3 Wood: :titelist-small: TS3 (14.25*) - Mitsubishi Diamana D+ White 80X, 2 extra grams of head weight

Driving Iron: :titelist-small: U500 2 iron - HZRDUS Smoke (X)

Irons (4-6) :titelist-small: T100S - KBS C-Taper X-Stiff

Irons (7-P) :titelist-small: 620 MB - KBS C-Taper X Stiff

Wedges: QAJzq7h.jpg SM7 Jet Black 50.F.12 / 55.S.11 / 60.M.08 - X100

Putter: 5WoCG8Y.jpgBlack ER2 (Finish Courtesy of NorCal Putters) - :P2-grips-logo: Aware Tour

Bag:  :titelist-small: Hybrid 14

Glove:  Under Armour Strikeskin Tour

Ball: :titelist-small: ProV1 Yellow #3

RangeFinder: :918457628_PrecisionPro: NX7 Pro

Instagram: @dpattgolf

CURRENTLY TESTING THE HONMA TR20 DRIVER

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

The pin being left in is only going to benefit a bad shot. A good shot will not be affected. I agree DPatt, not in tournaments. 


:callaway-small:                      Epic Flash Sub Zero 9.5* (Ventus Black 6X) 45"

:taylormade-small:             M5 15* (Ventus Black 7x) 43"

:callaway-small:                      Epic Flash Sub Zero 18* (Tensei AV Blue 70 X)

:srixon-small:                     Z585 4-5 (KBS C Taper S)

:srixon-small:                     Z785 6-AW (KBS C Taper S)

:titelist-small:                      Vokey SM8 55 08 M (KBS 610)

:titelist-small:                      Vokey SM8 59 04 L   (KBS 610)

:bettinardi-1:                Studio Stock 28 Slotback 33.5"

:bridgestone-small:       Tour BX

:Arccos:

Twitter         @THEZIPR23

 

"One thing Golf has taught me, is that my muscles have no memory."

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

The pin being left in is only going to benefit a bad shot. A good shot will not be affected. I agree DPatt, not in tournaments.

So all those approach shots we see all the time hit the flags and bounce off and spin off the greens aren't being affected by hitting the pin?

 

 

Sent from my iPhone using MyGolfSpy

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

So all those approach shots we see all the time hit the flags and bounce off and spin off the greens aren't being affected by hitting the pin?

 

 

Sent from my iPhone using MyGolfSpy

The conversation is about chips and the rule change is in regards to putting while on the green. Not sure where you got to approach shots. And I haven't seen anyone take the flag out for an approach shot, unless you are Phil.  


:callaway-small:                      Epic Flash Sub Zero 9.5* (Ventus Black 6X) 45"

:taylormade-small:             M5 15* (Ventus Black 7x) 43"

:callaway-small:                      Epic Flash Sub Zero 18* (Tensei AV Blue 70 X)

:srixon-small:                     Z585 4-5 (KBS C Taper S)

:srixon-small:                     Z785 6-AW (KBS C Taper S)

:titelist-small:                      Vokey SM8 55 08 M (KBS 610)

:titelist-small:                      Vokey SM8 59 04 L   (KBS 610)

:bettinardi-1:                Studio Stock 28 Slotback 33.5"

:bridgestone-small:       Tour BX

:Arccos:

Twitter         @THEZIPR23

 

"One thing Golf has taught me, is that my muscles have no memory."

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

The conversation is about chips and the rule change is in regards to putting while on the green. Not sure where you got to approach shots. And I haven't seen anyone take the flag out for an approach shot, unless you are Phil.

Got there just in conveying that I don't think there is any benefit at all of having it in. I think the likelihood of the pin keeping a ball from dropping in is more than it stopping one going too hard and letting it drop in.

 

Using the approach shot statement as an example - and will use even Hatton's crazy backspinner as an example in that I think if the pin wasn't there it would have dropped.

 

 

 

 

Sent from my iPhone using MyGolfSpy

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Join the conversation

You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.

Guest
Reply to this topic...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.

Sign in to follow this  

×
×
  • Create New...