7 Wood vs 4 Hybrid?

Posted (edited)

Hard swinging High Handicap newbie here again,

looking to fill out my bag

Currently have AI Smoke Max Driver and 3w each with Denali Black XS

JPX923 Hot Metal Irons 5-GW

Looking to gap distance between 3w and 5i.

3w is consistently 230-250 and very straight when hit even sort of well

5i very consistently 195-205 and easy to hit consistently.

whats trade offs between 7w and 4H to fill the gap?

hit both and like both. 7 would seems straighter and more consistent albeit harder to hit. 4H super hot off the face and easy to hit every.single.time but a lot more R to L dispersion and movement- which is something I fight bad right now regardless

I know 7w have had a bit of a resurgence lately and hybrids have had a place in folks bags for awhile- pros and cons from our MGS experts on each? 

Will likely follow suit with ai smoke max versions of either

Edited by Dl_harmsen

It really depends on your goals and what you want to see from the ballflight out of that slot in your bag. A 7w will most likely launch higher and land softer, while a 4h will most likely fly a little lower and give you more runout. 

I played a Callaway Heavenwood which is roughly the equivalent of a 7w for many years and I loved it. I only pulled it from the bag for a Cleveland Hy-Wood which I found to be even more forgiving, especially in less than ideal lies. 

In my Big Max hybrid bag:
:mizuno-small: ST-X 10.5* Kai'li Blue R Flex
:mizuno-small: ST-Z 15* Kai'li Blue R Flex
:mizuno-small: ST-Z 4h Linq Blue R Flex
:cleveland-small: Launcher 5h
:wilson_staff_small: D200 6i-GW
:cleveland-small: CBX 54* & 58*
:cleveland-small: Huntington Beach #10
:maxfli: Tour S

Might be worth trying a Callaway apex utility wood, the 21 degree. I use one and love it off the tee, off the fairway and as a rescue club. I found a 4 hybrid often went left but the UW, goes much straighter. Good luck

GEG (Golf Equipment Geek)

4 hours ago, Dl_harmsen said: