Testers Wanted: Newton Driver Shafts ×

Handicap Questions

Wheelieb

So the Handicap displayed for me is not an official one. All it is, is the makeup of the rounds from 18Birdies. That is about as official as saying I am a police officer. Either way, it leads me to my questions. First being, I am really thinking about joining the VGA here in Virginia and playing a few tournaments, but it asks if I have a Handicap. Officially no. Anyone have any idea if I need one to join? Secondly, am I right in seeing you need to pay the usga to get an official handicap? Any help would be great and any other questions you may have you can take over this thread. I'm here to learn as well.

Callaway Paradym AI Smoke Max 9* with Tensei AV Blue 55

Mizuno ST Max 3 wood

PXG 7 wood with Mitsubishi Diamana Shafts

Mizuno Pro 225 5-GW with Dynamic Gold S300 shafts

Mizuno S23 54 and 58 degree wedges

L.A.B. DF3 Putter

8 minutes ago, Wheelieb said:

So the Handicap displayed for me is not an official one. All it is, is the makeup of the rounds from 18Birdies. That is about as official as saying I am a police officer. Either way, it leads me to my questions. First being, I am really thinking about joining the VGA here in Virginia and playing a few tournaments, but it asks if I have a Handicap. Officially no. Anyone have any idea if I need one to join? Secondly, am I right in seeing you need to pay the usga to get an official handicap? Any help would be great and any other questions you may have you can take over this thread. I'm here to learn as well.

FAQ question number one provides a link to the VGA manual which explains the handicapping system: https://vgagolf.org/faq/     Per the referenced document the VGA uses their own and does not use a USGA handicap.   When you signup for the tournaments you can ask how they establish initial handicap for the event since you haven’t played the minimum 3 events.  

Driver:  :ping-small: G400 Max 9* w/ KBS Tour Driven