Testers Wanted! Titleist SM10 and Stix Golf Clubs ×

Experience with 2-Piece / Split Ferrules?

Hey Spies!

I am working on a refurb of some vintage Hagen/Haig irons, which I got from Goodwill in very good shape.  The ferrules, however, are beyond saving.  These clubs are drilled all the way through the hosel, and have the rubber cap at the end (like some older Big Bertha drivers and irons).  I have no experience with that kind of head removal and reshafting, so I removed the ferrules and plan to use the Golfworks two-piece / split ferrules as replacements.  (Full disclosure:  I started heating one to remove the head, and the thing would not budge.  It's on very tightly, which overall is a good thing, but it led me down this alternate ferrule path.)

Some of the reviews on the split ferrules were not so great.

If you have used them, will you let me know how it went from an installation and endurance perspective?

Any tips on installation?

FWIW, I plan to be somewhat more generous with the epoxy than normal to try to ensure they stay on the club in the right place.

Thank you in advance!

Working at getting better ... and very slowly getting there.

•  :callaway-small: Paradym 🔹🔹🔹 8* (:accra: FX 3.0 140 M0 Otto-Phlex)
  •  :callaway-small: Rogue ST Max 3 & 5 Woods (:Fuji: MotoreX F1 7-S)
  • :callaway-small: Paradym X 4 and 5 Hybrid (:Fuji: MotoreX HB 7-S)
  •  :Miura: CB-57 4-P or Maltby TS3 (4-8)/TS4 (9-PW)/TS1 (GW) (shafts:  :projectx: LZ 6.0)
  • :cleveland-small: RTX6 Zipcore 53*, and 58* mid wedges (KBS High Rev 125)
  • :scotty-small: Special Select Fastback 1.5
  • :redrooster: Gloves
  •  :maxfli: Tour X Balls

Don't count my clubs!  Ha.  The 4 iron, 5 hybrid, and 53* Cleveland are in and out of the bag depending on mood, course, and moon phase.

My Official 2024 TaylorMade Qi10 Review:  https://forum.mygolfspy.com/topic/62804-taylormade-qi10-drivers-2024-forum-member-review/?do=findComment&comment=1014200