Testers Wanted! Titleist SM10 and Stix Golf Clubs ×

Fitting not helping

Bradka13

Has anyone had a fitting that did not yield expected results?  I had my first fitting several years ago and ended up buying new (very expensive for me) irons.  My handicap went up since the fitting.  To be fair, the timing of this was also when I started playing a bit less as well but I guess I was expecting to see a bigger difference in my game after the fitting.  I was fit for a new driver a little over a year ago and I would say that part of my game has been better since.

Driver - Titleist TS2 

3 Wood - TaylorMade Rocketballz 2

Hybrids - Taylormade Rescue knockoffs

Irons - Taylormade Burner 2.0

52 Degree - Cleveland CG14

56 Degree - Titleist Vokey BV

60 Degree - Ping Glide 3.0

Ball - Depends if I find in or have to pay for it.

A buddy of mine who works in the golf equipment industry had this to say about fittings: they’ll fit you for whatever swing you had that day. So it stands to reason that the less consistent your swing is, the more likely it is your fitting doesn’t hold up, which would affect beginners more.

Founder, PutterCup (puttercupgolf.com)

8 hours ago, Bradka13 said:

Has anyone had a fitting that did not yield expected results?  

My handicap went up since the fitting.  

What were the expected results?   Based on the second line I quoted you wanted a lower handicap.   IMO, we get clubs that are fit to our swing to maximize our ability to hit a consistent stock stock; basically get good launch conditions.  While that is important, it doesn’t mean you will play good or better golf.  For example if you have poor course management strategies or can’t hit partial distances fit clubs probably won’t make much difference.  Getting you clubs fit is only addresses one aspect of the game.   

Driver:  :ping-small: G400 Max 9* w/ KBS Tour Driven
Fairway: :titelist-small: TS3 15*  w/Project X Hzardous Smoke