Testers Wanted! Titleist SM10 and Stix Golf Clubs ×

First Time Putter Build

I'm a college student building a putter for the first time with a putter I found in the basement. It's an older Wilson Sam Snead "2-Way" Blade similar to the one in the photo. I know a little about club building but not enough to go into this super confident so just a few questions.

1) How do I know what the shaft diameter is? Is it just .370, is that the standard even for older putters?

2) It used to be chromed, but after decades it's pretty beat up, will stripping it then buffing it with a bench grinder and buffing compound be enough to make it shiny?

3) Do I need to use centering beads? I see them used on drivers and the like, but will I need to use them?

Thank you for all the help!

s-l1600.jpg

Driver: Nike Vapor Fly Pro 10.5* Kuru Kage Red S

3W: Ping G400 SFT Stock Shaft R

Hybrid: CLK 22* Tensei Blue S

Irons: 4-PW P7MC Modus 120 S, 1* Uprt&Weak

Wedges: MG3 52*, 56*, 60* True Temper S200

Putter: Odessey 2-Ball/Mizuno M-Craft 2

Going to tag @McGolf here as he is a bit more of an expert than myself.

Also @funkyjudge will be able to better answer these!

⛳🛄 as of Nov 6, 2023 (Past WITB
Driver:  :callaway-small: Paradym TD w/ GD ADDI 6X Driver Shootout! 

Wood:    :cobra-small: F7 3 wood 14.5* w/ Motore F1 Shaft

Irons:   :titleist-small: T Series - T200 5 Iron
                                          T150 6-9 Iron
                                          T100 PW/GW

Wedge:  Toura Golf - A Spec 53,37,61 degree 

Putter:  Screenshot 2023-06-02 13.10.30.png Mezz Max!

Balls:     Vice Pro Plus Drip (Blue/Orange)

I am not 100% certain, but I believe that these putters used an “over the hosel” shaft that actually installs over a solid rod that protrudes out from the top of the putter’s hosel, or “neck”. Here is a description of the vintage reissue shafts that TrueTemper makes for such vintage putters: