Testers Wanted! Titleist SM10 and Stix Golf Clubs ×

Crazy Strange Golf S*hit

What are the strangest things you’ve seen or done while working at a golf course?
I originally wanted to be a club pro when I was 20, back in the late 70s. Here r the top incidents I experienced. 

1:   Right before the start of the first tournament I worked as an assistant pro, a farmer’s cow got thru the fence at the back of the course. Pro handed me a shotgun, said it was loaded with rock salt, and told me to go shoot the damn thing in the ass, before it destroyed a green. All I could think of the entire time was the scene from Animal House where the horse has a heart attack. The cow lived. 

2.   I had to wake up / run off vagrants sleeping on the golf course.

3.  When I was 17, first golf job, the owner took me out to teach me how to ranger. After a while he pulled into a bunch of trees behind a tee & we just sat there watching. When the next group came by he asked them for a beer out of their cooler! He drank the beer, then closed his eyes & fell asleep. Later, when I told the pro, he said, “I better never catch u doing that.”