Testers Wanted! Titleist SM10 and Stix Golf Clubs ×

Was I wrong about Nike?

ms1195

Bored on a Friday, so I wanted to write this as a shout out to Nike golf clubs, a brand I would never thought to have given much of a chance in my bag. I have been playing Cleveland wedges since I started playing, and have always been very fond of them. I recently picked up a used Nike VR Forged 52° gap wedge, and have been incredibly impressed with it.

It seems to have a slightly larger face than my CG15, but it looks fantastic at address, feel is much better than the Cleveland (as expected from forged), and I have found it to be extremely versatile. Traditionally I only used my gap wedge for 100-80 yard shots but I have started chipping with this around the green and it has been deadly accurate. Spin is very good too. I would say Nike's grooves on this wedge beat out the Zip grooves from Cleveland. I have a 58° on the way and am excited to put it into play.

Anyway I am writing this for people, like myself, who never gave Nike irons a chance in the past. Their forgings appear to be high quality, and their wedges flat out work. I will provide an update once I get a chance to play with the 58 a few times.

Also, does anyone have any experience with the VR Combo Irons or just the VR Forged Blades?

WITB

Driver: Calloway Diablo Octane Tour, UST VTS Silver

Hybrids: 16* Taylormade RBZ Tour 16*, 21* TEE XCG-3

Irons: Adams CB1 4-PW, KBS C Taper Lite S

Wedges: Nike VR Pro Forged 52*, 58*

Putter: Odyssey White Hot XG3

Grips: Lamkin Crossline Midsize

Ball: Whatever I find, prefer Bridgestone

Nike makes very playable equipment - I use one of their balls and none of their clubs but I have little doubt that I could go out and get fit for Nike equipment and find something quite suitable for me game. Of course that's true of any major golf manufacturer - so long as I got fit it would work.