Testers Wanted! Titleist SM10 and Stix Golf Clubs ×

Single Plane Swing and less active lower body.

I’m back. Well, I never really left, just haven’t posted as much. 

The past few years have been rough on me. I have arthritis in both knees and I tore tendons and ligaments in my ankle and after 15 months I had surgery. That’s mostly healed, but I often wear hiking boots to golf so that I get extra support. But most golf instruction focuses on leg action and more body rotation. This is great if I want to play once a week. I can do traditional swings quite well for a few holes. Sometimes a whole round or almost two rounds, but there seems a point where the knees start hurting, the lower body starts to become less active, the hands start to take over, and the ball goes left. So I began a quest for a swing where there was less leg drive. 

I spent the better part of 2021 searching, and towards the end, I came across Todd Graves and the Moe Norman swing. I studied this and practiced and gamed it for almost all of 2022. At least the irons and hybrids and fairways were great. The driver is straight but I of course wanted more distance. I’m sure I could gain more distance if I transitioned better.

The neutral left hand is difficult for me. I prefer a stronger grip but the results were there. Dead straight ball flight and repeatable distance. 

Towards the end of February, possibly because I was finally over the ankle issues, possibly because I’m stupid. I went back to a traditional leg driven swing. Well, I’m going back to the Moe Norman Swing. 

When I say there is less leg action than other swings, this is not exactly accurate. The legs are 100% involved in the swing, but they are straighter to start with and instead of straightening the left leg quickly, which raises the hip and shoulder that increase the club speed, etc. the left knee actually goes from almost straight to slightly flexed and stays there until well into the follow through and the pressure is relieved.