Ready Golf - The New Norm?

I’ve been golfing since 1996 and ready golf was the norm back then so is it really the new norm or just the norm and some people are just slow no matter what.

i play with a bunch of random strangers and there’s never a discussion about ready golf everyone just does it.

Driver: PXG 0811 X+ Proto w/UST Helium 5F4

Wood: TaylorMade M5 5W w/Accra TZ5 +1/2”, TaylorMade Sim 3W w/Aldila rogue white

Hybrid: PXG Gen2 22* w/AD hybrid

Irons: PXG Gen3 0311T w/Nippon modus 120

Wedges: TaylorMade MG2 50*, Tiger grind 56/60

Putter: Scotty Caemeron Super Rat1

Ball: Titleist Prov1

1 hour ago, RickyBobby_PR said:

i play with a bunch of random strangers and there’s never a discussion about ready golf everyone just does it.

I have seen this often on the tee box but things go back to slow, sequential playing order as people get closer to the green. What is interesting is that this seems to be one of the more commonly understood "etiquette" aspects of the game. Even terrible players seem to be very aware of playing order, which is annoying since I think it should be dispensed with outside of competitive golf. 

I generally walk as well and most other people at my course ride so it helps me to hit first and then start walking. If I am playing with strangers (usually the case) then I typically ask them on the first tee if it is distracting for me to start walking as soon as I hit on most holes (there are some holes where there is no way for me to start walking without being distracting but there are a majority of holes where i can walk and be 60 yds out of the way laterally. Personally, I think this should be the case for all walking/cart combo groups. Let the walkers hit first (assuming they are all playing from the same tee box) and then start walking to their ball (out of the line of play of course).