GolfSpy Stroker

club cleaning tips tricks hints

So I hope I'm not the only one that is obsessed with keeping their clubs clean.

What are some of your favorite tricks?

A few of mine:

• use car wash soap and scrub heads clean
  • dry carefully
  • rub with liquid car polish and let dry to a haze
  • wipe to a sparkling shine
  • use 220 grit sandpaper on the grips every month or so to keep them fresh

I'm not a golf expert, but is that within the Rules to put a foreign substance on the clubface? As a polish, residue will remain. I'm a casual solo weekend player and I regularly spit on my driver for a little extra help. Should I not be doing that? Is that wrong?

• Like 2

My course has a club cleaning machine on the driving range.  Think of a shoe shine type of rotating brush over a big bucket of water.  One side for irons with a stiffer brush and one side for woods with a softer brush.  I'll clean whatever clubs I use to warm up on the range there but that's about it.  

I still clean each club after every shot with a frogger brush and towel as needed,  but I don't go beyond that.  As long as the grooves are good and clean I'm all set.

All you really need on the club's is soap and water.  Get the grooves clean and you are good to go.  

Grip wise I play PURE grips and I've never done anything to them and they are still firm and tacky after 2 seasons.  I did have an Iomic Absolute putter grip showing a little wear at my last fitting.  My club fitter just put a little WD40 on a rag and wiped all the dirt off, then rinsed with water and damned if it wasn't as good as new.

So yes I make sure all the faces of my clubs are clean before any shot, but I'm a little to zero in-between round maintenance type of guy.

• Like 3

I'm a Meyer. Clean after every shot with the frogger brush and towel.

• Like 3

I wipe off the club after every shot too - that's about all I do while playing.