Jump to content

Recommended Posts

When you address the ball with your iron how much distance between the ball and the face of your iron do you keep?

Are you like the player on the left/top or the one on the right/bottom?  I've always been like the one on the right/bottom but I'm considering leaving a small gap...

Thoughts?

Note - I realize there are special circumstances - I mean in the fairway, on a good lie or on the tee

iron_ball1.jpgiron_ball2.jpg

  • Like 1

G410 LST | SpeedZone Big Tour | TM Sim Max 5 | Titleist 818 H2 | Z785 | ZipCore | Exotics DG-1.3

Link to post
Share on other sites

I'm sorta in between the two. I'm usually not right up against it, but there also isn't a lot of distance between the ball and club. Has anyone seen any considerable changes in switching between the two?

  • Like 1

:ping-small: G400 Max

:ping-small: G410 3W

:ping-small: G410 3 & 4 Crossover

:ping-small: i200 5-PW

:vokey-small: Vokey SM7 | 52-56-60

:taylormade-small: Taylormade Spider X

 

 

Link to post
Share on other sites

I'm the "right up to the ball" type. Putting it too far behind the ball makes me feel like that's where my low point will be unless I really shift towards target. I probably will still bump towards the target the same amount if I'm right up to the ball, but it's just a feeling I guess?

Driver: :taylormade-small: SIM Max 10.5 Fujikura Motore X F3 5S

3w/5w: :titelist-small: TSi2 Tensei AV Raw Blue 75S

4h: :mizuno-small: CLK 22* Hybrid Tensei CK Pro Blue 80HY S

Irons 5-PW: :mizuno-small: JPX 919 Forged Nippon Modus 3 Tour 105 S

Wedges: :cleveland-small: RTX Zipcore Tour Rack 50, 54, 58 Modus 3 115 Wedge

Putter: L.A.B. DF 2.1, 34.5", BGT Stability Tour, 71* lie angle, Press II 3* Grip

Ball: :bridgestone-small: Tour B X

Link to post
Share on other sites

Bottom- I like bottoms.......................I think I should rephrase that😂

  • Haha 4

Driver     Awaiting NEW Driver (after 10 yrs)  
4 Wood   Callaway Big Bertha Steelhead plus 4+  :callaway-small: Callaway shaft in 'Firm' flex

Hybrid     Titleist 910H 19*    :titelist-small:   Diamana ahina 'flower' shaft in 'S'

Irons         Mizuno MP18SC 4-PW   :mizuno-small:  N.S Pro Modus3 Tour 105 in 'S'

Wedges    Callaway Mack Daddy forged in black 50* and 54*  :callaway-small:   KBS Tour in 'R'

Putter        'YES' Tracy 11 C groove 34.5"

Link to post
Share on other sites

I'm with the 2nd option camp.

Driver: :ping-small: G400 Max 9 degree Alta CB55 Stiff shaft 

Fairway: :taylormade-small: M4 3W (16.5*), 5W (21*), 7W (24*), Atmos shaft R

Irons: :callaway-small:Apex CF19 6-9, PW, AW KBS Tour Graphite  70g shafts R

Wedges:  :cleveland-small: CBX-2 52*, 56*, 60* wedges.  Stock shafts.

Putter: :odyssey-small: Stroke Lab 7S

Ball: :Snell: MTB-X

My Photography can be seen at Smugmug

Link to post
Share on other sites

Im also in the bottom, if I'm having a chunky day, I'll actually lift the club up a bit at address so the bottom is hovering almost over the ball, that scootches my low point up, more thins, but no more chunks. 😉

RH:

Driver: :cobra-small: F9 9.0º - 14g Low - Evenflow White T1100 75G X

Woods: :cobra-small: F9 3W - Evenflow White T1100 75G X

Hybrids: :cobra-small:  F9 3H - Aldila Green X

Irons: :cobra-small: F9 One Length 4-PW - Modus3 Tour 105 S

Wedges: :cobra-small: King Wedges 50º/54º/58º Versatile

Putter: :ping-small:  Sigma G Tyne 35"

Ball: Srixon Z Star XV

#cobraconnect19

Link to post
Share on other sites

I'm the middle, but much closer to the bottom one. Too close, and I'm afraid I'll accidentally "tap" the ball (even though I probably won't, I'm just a head case) and have to take a stroke, and too far it messes with my swing. 

  • Like 1

Wilson Staff C300 9.0* Fujikura Pro 58 stiff

Callaway Rogue 3W Mitsubishi Diamana D+ LTD 80 stiff

Mizuno MP-18 MMC FLI-HI 2 iron UST Mamiya Recoil 95 stiff

Ping I200's 4-W Aerotech Steelfiber I110 CW stiff

Ping Glide 52* and 58* stiff

Bettinardi Studio Stock #38 Armlock

 

 

Link to post
Share on other sites

I’m in between the two. I like maybe an inch, tops, between the ball and club. I get nervous about leaving the club too close and accidentally touching the ball.


Sent from my iPhone using MyGolfSpy

In my  :wilson_staff_small:  carry bag:
:callaway-small: Big Bertha Mini (the :wilson_staff_small:  D7 is in time out)
:callaway-small:  GBB 3W (lofted to 4W)
:callaway-small: V-Series Heavenwood
:cobra-small: Baffler XL 5i-PW
:cleveland-small: CBX 54*
:ping-small: iWedge 58*
:cleveland-small: #10

Twitter: @russtopherb

 

Link to post
Share on other sites

 

Widely known as one of the best ball strikers who has ever lived... look at the driver set up...wow!

moe-at-address.jpg

 

  • Like 2

G410 LST | SpeedZone Big Tour | TM Sim Max 5 | Titleist 818 H2 | Z785 | ZipCore | Exotics DG-1.3

Link to post
Share on other sites
Just now, GolfSpy Stroker said:

 

Widely known as one of the best ball strikers who has ever lived... look at the driver set up...wow!

moe-at-address.jpg

 

That'll get ya hitting on the upswing... wow

Edited by GB13

Wilson Staff C300 9.0* Fujikura Pro 58 stiff

Callaway Rogue 3W Mitsubishi Diamana D+ LTD 80 stiff

Mizuno MP-18 MMC FLI-HI 2 iron UST Mamiya Recoil 95 stiff

Ping I200's 4-W Aerotech Steelfiber I110 CW stiff

Ping Glide 52* and 58* stiff

Bettinardi Studio Stock #38 Armlock

 

 

Link to post
Share on other sites
8 minutes ago, GB13 said:

That'll get ya hitting on the upswing... wow

Yeah... I was really in to Moe for a while so I tried it..........once. 😆

  • Haha 2

G410 LST | SpeedZone Big Tour | TM Sim Max 5 | Titleist 818 H2 | Z785 | ZipCore | Exotics DG-1.3

Link to post
Share on other sites
40 minutes ago, GB13 said:

I'm the middle, but much closer to the bottom one. Too close, and I'm afraid I'll accidentally "tap" the ball (even though I probably won't, I'm just a head case) and have to take a stroke, and too far it messes with my swing. 

Does the new rule not protect you from that? Similar to the rule for knocking your ball off the tee on accident and getting the age-old joke "THAT'S ONE!" yelled at you?

As long as you didn't deliberately touch the ball causing it to move you don't have to take a stroke?

19 minutes ago, GolfSpy Stroker said:

 

Widely known as one of the best ball strikers who has ever lived... look at the driver set up...wow!

moe-at-address.jpg

 

Oh, with driver I address the ball with the clubhead further back and not "up against" the tee/ball. Not quite as exaggerated as in the picture, but maybe half the distance?

  • Like 1

Driver: :taylormade-small: SIM Max 10.5 Fujikura Motore X F3 5S

3w/5w: :titelist-small: TSi2 Tensei AV Raw Blue 75S

4h: :mizuno-small: CLK 22* Hybrid Tensei CK Pro Blue 80HY S

Irons 5-PW: :mizuno-small: JPX 919 Forged Nippon Modus 3 Tour 105 S

Wedges: :cleveland-small: RTX Zipcore Tour Rack 50, 54, 58 Modus 3 115 Wedge

Putter: L.A.B. DF 2.1, 34.5", BGT Stability Tour, 71* lie angle, Press II 3* Grip

Ball: :bridgestone-small: Tour B X

Link to post
Share on other sites
 
Widely known as one of the best ball strikers who has ever lived... look at the driver set up...wow!
moe-at-address.thumb.jpg.da156192fa3db886c98d283b9f6ad797.jpg
 


I used to set up like this with driver, not quite as far away, but pretty far.... might give it a go after today.
Link to post
Share on other sites
24 minutes ago, GolfSpy Stroker said:

Yeah... I was really in to Moe for a while so I tried it..........once. 😆

I did it for 10 years, and it straightened out my slice.  It's actually a good swing, but you can't set up like Moe and swing with a normal, standard swing.  

We don’t stop playing the game because we get old; we get old because we stop playing the game.”

Link to post
Share on other sites
16 minutes ago, yungkory said:

Does the new rule not protect you from that? Similar to the rule for knocking your ball off the tee on accident and getting the age-old joke "THAT'S ONE!" yelled at you?

As long as you didn't deliberately touch the ball causing it to move you don't have to take a stroke?

I thought that was just on the tee box, not everywhere on the course. I could be wrong though, does our resident rules junkie, @DaveP043 care to wiegh in? 

Wilson Staff C300 9.0* Fujikura Pro 58 stiff

Callaway Rogue 3W Mitsubishi Diamana D+ LTD 80 stiff

Mizuno MP-18 MMC FLI-HI 2 iron UST Mamiya Recoil 95 stiff

Ping I200's 4-W Aerotech Steelfiber I110 CW stiff

Ping Glide 52* and 58* stiff

Bettinardi Studio Stock #38 Armlock

 

 

Link to post
Share on other sites

I'm not right up to the ball; can't tell about the bottom photo, might be close.

We don’t stop playing the game because we get old; we get old because we stop playing the game.”

Link to post
Share on other sites
45 minutes ago, GB13 said:

I thought that was just on the tee box, not everywhere on the course. I could be wrong though, does our resident rules junkie, @DaveP043 care to wiegh in? 

Its Rule 9.4.b:

Quote

If the player lifts or deliberately touches his or her ball at rest or causes it to move, the player gets one penalty stroke.

There are 4 exceptions, but none excuse accidental movement of a ball in the general when its location is known.  And you are required to replace it before you make your stroke.

This is the rule that prompted Webb Simpson to go off, saying they "have to get intent into the rules", and proceeding to show his complete lack of knowledge about the rules concerning accidental movement of a ball during a search.

Edited by DaveP043
  • Like 4

:titelist-small: Irons Titleist AP2 714, KBS Tour S, 3 flat

:callaway-small: Rogue SubZero, GD YS-Six X

:vokey-small: 52, 56, and 60 wedges

:ping-small: B60 G5i putter

Right handed

Reston, Virginia

Link to post
Share on other sites
23 minutes ago, DaveP043 said:

Its Rule 9.4.b:

There are 4 exceptions, but none excuse accidental movement of a ball in the general when its location is known.  And you are required to replace it before you make your stroke.

This is the rule that prompted Webb Simpson to go off, saying they "have to get intent into the rules", and proceeding to show his complete lack of knowledge about the rules concerning accidental movement of a ball during a search.

Yeah, the word deliberately throws me off. Sure, if I was trying to move my ball to tee it up a little bit using the grass, that should warrant a penalty stroke. But if I accidentally touch it with my club at address, how is that different from knocking it off the tee, or worse than what ZJ did at the masters? Thanks for clarifying for us!

 

Driver: :taylormade-small: SIM Max 10.5 Fujikura Motore X F3 5S

3w/5w: :titelist-small: TSi2 Tensei AV Raw Blue 75S

4h: :mizuno-small: CLK 22* Hybrid Tensei CK Pro Blue 80HY S

Irons 5-PW: :mizuno-small: JPX 919 Forged Nippon Modus 3 Tour 105 S

Wedges: :cleveland-small: RTX Zipcore Tour Rack 50, 54, 58 Modus 3 115 Wedge

Putter: L.A.B. DF 2.1, 34.5", BGT Stability Tour, 71* lie angle, Press II 3* Grip

Ball: :bridgestone-small: Tour B X

Link to post
Share on other sites

The wording includes "causing it to move" but yes the deliberately does make you think.  

 

Ball in teeing area is not in play until a stroke is made. He didn't make what constitutes a stroke. 

:taylormade-small:             SIM 9.5* (GD XC 6X) 

:taylormade-small:             SIM 15* (GD DI 7X) 

:taylormade-small:             3 DHY (GD DI HY8X)

:srixon-small:                    ZX7 4-PW (KBS C Taper S)

:titelist-small:                     Vokey SM8 49 08 F ( KBS 610)

:titelist-small:                     Vokey SM8 55 08 M (KBS 610)

:titelist-small:                     Vokey SM8 59 04 L  (KBS 610)

:scotty-cameron-1:                Special Select SquareBack 2 33"

:titelist-small:                     ProV1

Twitter                     @THEZIPR23

 

"One thing Golf has taught me, is that my muscles have no memory."

Link to post
Share on other sites
5 minutes ago, THEZIPR23 said:

The wording includes "causing it to move" but yes the deliberately does make you think.  

 

Ball in teeing area is not in play until a stroke is made. He didn't make what constitutes a stroke. 

Yeah, but what's the reasoning behind letting me accidentally slap my ball 50 yards right (if he hadn't hit the tee marker) but I can't even accidentally touch the ball with the iron in the fairway? It's one of those 🤔 moments where I'm just not sure common sense was taken into consideration.

Anyways, this has derailed the original topic sorry!

  • Like 1

Driver: :taylormade-small: SIM Max 10.5 Fujikura Motore X F3 5S

3w/5w: :titelist-small: TSi2 Tensei AV Raw Blue 75S

4h: :mizuno-small: CLK 22* Hybrid Tensei CK Pro Blue 80HY S

Irons 5-PW: :mizuno-small: JPX 919 Forged Nippon Modus 3 Tour 105 S

Wedges: :cleveland-small: RTX Zipcore Tour Rack 50, 54, 58 Modus 3 115 Wedge

Putter: L.A.B. DF 2.1, 34.5", BGT Stability Tour, 71* lie angle, Press II 3* Grip

Ball: :bridgestone-small: Tour B X

Link to post
Share on other sites

Join the conversation

You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.

Guest
Reply to this topic...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.

×
×
  • Create New...