Jump to content
fixyurdivot

Golf Humorous Rules

Recommended Posts

My favorite still has to be that if your ball embeds itself in a piece of fruit on the course, you must either play it as it lies or take an unplayable penalty.

  • Like 1
  • Haha 3

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
1 hour ago, GolfSpy MPR said:

My favorite still has to be that if your ball embeds itself in a piece of fruit on the course, you must either play it as it lies or take an unplayable penalty.

Seriously?  I had no idea this was a rule.  No doubt there are plenty of others I'm unaware of.  But then, since I do not play competitively (at least in a formal manner), myself and the others I play with don't bother ourselves too much with the lesser known rules.  

One new rule I have adopted is that if my lie even remotely looks like it has substrate that is going to marr the sole of my new G410 irons, it's getting moved/improved 👍.

  • Like 8
  • Haha 1

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
7 minutes ago, fixyurdivot said:

Seriously?  I had no idea this was a rule.  No doubt there are plenty of others I'm unaware of.  But then, since I do not play competitively (at least in a formal manner), myself and the others I play with don't bother ourselves too much with the lesser know rules.  

One new rule I have adopted is that if my lie even remotely looks like it has substrate that is going to marr the sole of my new G410 irons, it's getting moved/improved 👍.

Well, at least you can now legally remove loose impediments; e.g., rocks trigs, etc from bunkers.  Our bunkers tend to have little rocks that show up after a wind storm that blows out some sand.  I always removed them anyway, so nothing new for me!!

  • Like 4

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
4 minutes ago, Kenny B said:

Well, at least you can now legally remove loose impediments; e.g., rocks trigs, etc from bunkers.  Our bunkers tend to have little rocks that show up after a wind storm that blows out some sand.  I always removed them anyway, so nothing new for me!!

Hopefully our upcoming meetup group is cool with my modified rule set 🙂.  In Yuma, some of the bunkers, particularly at Las Barancas are hard packed sand.  They are not lateral hazards or OB and you can play from them (well, supposed to technically).  We allow use of a tee or a free drop behind point of entry.  When the USGA starts paying for my clubs or their refinishing, I'll abide by their rules verbatim.

  • Like 6

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
12 minutes ago, fixyurdivot said:

Hopefully our upcoming meetup group is cool with my modified rule set 🙂.  In Yuma, some of the bunkers, particularly at Las Barancas are hard packed sand.  They are not lateral hazards or OB and you can play from them (well, supposed to technically).  We allow use of a tee or a free drop behind point of entry.  When the USGA starts paying for my clubs or their refinishing, I'll abide by their rules verbatim.

We have one course in town where the bunkers are firm, not maintained, and no one rakes them after play.  I don't play there much, but I get invited once in a while to play Wolf with a group when they are short a player.  Hey!  It's free golf with a cart so why not!  That group's bunker rule is 1) lift your ball, 2) rake the bunker where your ball was, 3) place ball.  You get to play out of the bunker like it was intended to be played.  The group sets the rules for play.  

  • Like 7

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

The rule that I, and anyone I play with, that is disregarded is the ball in a fairway divot. We always just move the ball out of the divot. None of us keep a legit handicap or compete, so................

  • Like 4
  • Sad 1

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
31 minutes ago, silver & black said:

The rule that I, and anyone I play with, that is disregarded is the ball in a fairway divot. We always just move the ball out of the divot. None of us keep a legit handicap or compete, so................

That's one we use as well.  Another is lift, clean and replace if the ball has muck on it or if they've mowed and it's damp (regardless whether the LC&R rule is in effect).

Here's another rule I did not know.  "If your clubhead falls off during the backswing, and you complete the swing but miss the ball, it doesn't count as a stroke. But if your clubhead falls off during the downswing, and you complete the swing but miss the ball, it counts as a stroke."   Whaaat? 🤣

How about this one. You can use thrown grass clippings, smoke from a cigar, or a handkerchief to assess wind direction, but not a windsock (or anything designed specifically for that purpose).

 

  • Like 2
  • Haha 1

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
The rule that I, and anyone I play with, that is disregarded is the ball in a fairway divot. We always just move the ball out of the divot. None of us keep a legit handicap or compete, so................
Agreed. This was the biggest miss from the new rules. You shouldn't be penalized for hitting the ball where you're supposed to!

Take Dead Aim

  • Like 3
  • Sad 1

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

That second one came up last year when John Senden's driver shaft broke in the grip section on his downswing. He missed the ball (obviously) and was assessed a penalty. Geoff Ogilvy had some choice words for the rules official on that one lol

That's one we use as well.  Another is lift, clean and replace if the ball has muck on it or if they've mowed and it's damp (regardless whether the LC&R rule is in effect).
Here's another rule I did not know.  "If your clubhead falls off during the backswing, and you complete the swing but miss the ball, it doesn't count as a stroke. But if your clubhead falls off during the downswing, and you complete the swing but miss the ball, it counts as a stroke."   Whaaat? 
How about this one. You can use thrown grass clippings, smoke from a cigar, or a handkerchief to assess wind direction, but not a windsock (or anything designed specifically for that purpose).
 


Sent from my Pixel 2 using MyGolfSpy mobile app

  • Like 1
  • Haha 1

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I’m surprised Darren Clark didn’t get kicked out of South Bend for doing that to the precious Notre Dame golf course. 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
14 hours ago, Kor.A.Door said:

I’m surprised Darren Clark didn’t get kicked out of South Bend for doing that to the precious Notre Dame golf course. 

Nah, Darren hails from Ireland 😉.

How about these:

“If your ball comes to rest next to a cactus, you may wrap an arm or leg in a towel to protect yourself from the needles when you play your shot. But you can’t cover the cactus with a towel.” 🤪

“If the player’s ball lies in a hazard, the insect is considered to be in the hazard and the player may not touch or physically remove the insect from the ball (Rule 13-4c). However, as the insect is animate and capable of moving on its own, the player may take action, such as waving his hand, a club or towel, to encourage the insect to move.”  (and if he fails to cooperate, launch him 😂)

“You cannot place a water bottle on a green and use it as a level to determine how a putt will break.”

OK, complete honesty here, who was aware of these?

  • Like 2

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

It seems my disregard for the fairway divot rule is frowned on by at least one person. I can live with it.

  • Like 2
  • Haha 1

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
1 hour ago, fixyurdivot said:

Nah, Darren hails from Ireland 😉.

How about these:

“If your ball comes to rest next to a cactus, you may wrap an arm or leg in a towel to protect yourself from the needles when you play your shot. But you can’t cover the cactus with a towel.” 🤪

“If the player’s ball lies in a hazard, the insect is considered to be in the hazard and the player may not touch or physically remove the insect from the ball (Rule 13-4c). However, as the insect is animate and capable of moving on its own, the player may take action, such as waving his hand, a club or towel, to encourage the insect to move.”  (and if he fails to cooperate, launch him 😂)

“You cannot place a water bottle on a green and use it as a level to determine how a putt will break.”

OK, complete honesty here, who was aware of these?

I'm pretty sure that these are from decisions related to the previous versions of the rules, not the current rules.  Even so, the last is still in effect, you can't use a device to determine the slope of a surface.  I'm not sure of of the others.

And for @silver & black, we all have differing opinions, that's what makes the world go round.  Maybe we can talk it through over a pint some time.😁

  • Like 4

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
1 hour ago, DaveP043 said:

I'm pretty sure that these are from decisions related to the previous versions of the rules, not the current rules.  Even so, the last is still in effect, you can't use a device to determine the slope of a surface.  I'm not sure of of the others.

And for @silver & black, we all have differing opinions, that's what makes the world go round.  Maybe we can talk it through over a pint some time.😁

True Dave.  Some of the humorous rules from the past have been revised or replaced with other humorous rules 😄.

  • Like 2
  • Haha 1

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
On 6/29/2019 at 5:21 AM, silver & black said:

The rule that I, and anyone I play with, that is disregarded is the ball in a fairway divot. We always just move the ball out of the divot. None of us keep a legit handicap or compete, so................

Yep!  It's not considered Ground Under Repair..... but you're supposed to repair it!!!

  • Like 2
  • Haha 1

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

The "playing out of a divot" in the fairway is one that I'm really surprised hasn't been changed.  Lots of folks I play with think it's nuts and move their ball. Yes, I know, "how do you define what constitutes a divot" seems to be the BIG issue, but I don't see it that way.  Even if it's not perfectly defined, 90% is good enough IMO.  If everyone gets the same relief option, does it really matter? Not much different than the lift, clean & replace rule; first that everyone has the option, and second that the ball will never be replaced in the exact spot.  I agree with @silver & black, being penalized for hitting the ball where you're supposed to is both humorous and silly.

#giveusrelieffromdivotsnow 👍🤣

  • Like 3

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Hitting out of a divot isn't that difficult.  Hitting out of a sand filled divot is.  Should be ground under repair.  🙂

  • Like 3

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

In my view, divots have been around as long as golf has, long before the first Rules of Golf were written.  Divot holes have always been considered by the ruling bodies to be a normal part of golf.  In most cases, the exceptions to "play it as it lies" have been reactions to changing technologies , things like underground irrigation, paved roadways, improved mowing equipment, as well as geographic expansion of the game.  But none of these changes has changed anything regarding divot holes.They're still a normal part of the game, and don't deserve to be treated as abnormal conditions justifying relief.

  • Like 2

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Divots are easy to play a ball out of, just needs some commitment to the shot 😉

 

divot.jpg.8a4a51b19df697f88d31e078df6a8eae.jpg

  • Like 1
  • Haha 5

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Join the conversation

You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.

Guest
Reply to this topic...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.


×
×
  • Create New...